Protect your privacy onlineIf you want to keep your web presence as safe as your hard drive, check out our guide to protecting your privacy online.Massive hacks and security breaches, the looming presence of the NSA, and the recent introduction of stringent data protection laws in the EU have many of us rightly worried about data security. As any power user knows, files that are nominally “deleted” by Windows usually remain recoverable on your hard drive. The OS simply changes a few bits in the file header to tell the system the data is no longer required. As useful as this is for legitimate users who may have deleted data by accident, bad actors, such as hackers, can use freely downloadable digital forensic tools to recover your files in seconds.Eraser is a tool that seeks to restore the balance. This free utility works by repeatedly overwriting every bit of data in files or folders you select to delete it securely. Eraser is highly customizable: You can choose your own … [Read more...] about How to securely delete your data in Windows
How to retrieve deleted fb messages
HIDING from a boss? Scared of fake news or the latest Facebook hack attack? Or simply fed up of baby pictures? Whatever your reason for ditching Facebook, we're here to help. Whether you want to delete your account permanently, or deactivate for the time being, here is a step by step guide on how to do both. Deactivating vs deleting Facebook – what's the difference? Deactivation is generally the way to go if you're looking for a temporary break from Facebook. Maybe you've got an important job interview coming up, or you're just looking for a social media detox. The important thing is that you can get back into your account if you eventually change your mind. According to Facebook's official guidance, deactivation means: You can reactivate your account whenever you like People won't be able to see your timeline, or search for your profile Some info will remain visible, like messages you've sent to other users Deletion is a much more serious process, and will permanently scrub … [Read more...] about How to delete Facebook – a step-by-step guide to permanently removing your account
WHATSAPP is about to start deleting certain messages, photos and videos that you'd saved – and you've only got a few weeks to stop it from happening. It's all part of a brand new app update that changes the way backed-up WhatsApp content works. Until now, WhatsApp backed up your content into Google Drive – a popular cloud storage service. But Google is now making a handy change: the WhatsApp messages, photos and videos you've backed up will still be stored on Google Drive, but they won't count towards your storage limit. Sadly, there's a catch – WhatsApp will start deleting certain bits of old content. If you haven't updated your WhatsApp back-up for more than a year then it'll be completely wiped from Google Drive. That means any old messages or pictures you thought you had kept safe in the cloud will disappear forever. "Due to a new agreement between WhatsApp and Google, WhatsApp backups will no longer count against Google Drive storage quota," Google explained in … [Read more...] about WhatsApp will DELETE your messages, photos and videos after new update – here’s how to keep them safe
WE'VE all sent a message we've regretted and wished we could turn back time. WhatsApp has been letting users "unsend" messages since October 2017 but now it is believed the app will extend the grace period from seven minutes to over an hour. What is the "unsend" feature? It used to be the case that sending a WhatsApp message was final – no take-backs. But in a bid to keep up with rival services, WhatsApp began offering an "unsend" feature that lets you delete a message for everyone. There are plenty of reasons why you'd want to unsend a message: maybe you've drunk-texted an ex, or mistakenly called your boss something unpleasant in the work chat. There's been no official announcement, but tech site WABetaInfo dug into the latest beta app update for WhatsApp and uncovered the change. How to "unsend" a WhatsApp message? So if you've sent a risky text or made a mistake the feature can save you a lot of embarrassment or explaining. All you have to do to delete a message is … [Read more...] about How to unsend WhatsApp messages and what’s the time limit on ‘Delete for Everyone’?
WHATSAPP has quietly rolled out a new feature that lets Android users re-download media files they deleted, including photos, videos, GIFs, audio clips, and documents. In the past, Android users could grab media that was up to 30 days old, which would disappear from WhatsApp's servers as soon as it was downloaded. As part of a recent update, WhatsApp will now keep that data for good – allowing you to access it any time you want. And because the company offers end-to-end encryption (meaning it scrambles the content of your messages so that no one, including WhatsApp itself, can see them) you can rest assured that the entire process is secure. The feature is great for recovering files you accidentally deleted from the WhatsApp album in your smartphone's gallery. How to retrieve deleted media on WhatsApp It's important to note that the re-downloading option is only available for files from chats that have not been deleted. If you binned the original conversation, then all its … [Read more...] about How to re-download WhatsApp photos and videos you accidentally deleted